“Halloween is Un-Australian”

monkey and me halloweenWe went ‘trick or treating’ for the first time this year and damn it was fun. Fancy dress and sweets; what’s not to love about it? Plenty if you let the haters get in your way.

Halloween and the costume/trick or treating phenomenen have been reasonably slow traditions to come to Australia. I’m 37 and we never did anything to do with it as kids. What little I knew of Halloween came from spooky books and movies. It wasn’t until I actually had an American best friend that I realised that you could dress up as anything you wanted for Halloween, it didn’t HAVE to be something scary. At this point I was 30 but despite this I started to embrace the idea. One is never too old for dress ups and the idea of being able to dress up  as anything seemed waaaaay more fun. 

Anyway, we have come a long way since I was a whipper snapper and there are now little glimpses of Halloween about the place for all of us to see. The $2 shop is literally bursting at the seams with monsters masks , ridgy didge vampire blood and orange pumpkin shaped plastic toys that flash  and glow and fall apart as soon as you buy them, so capitalist Australia is well and truly on board. And to be honest, most people with kids are having a crack. But damn there are some haters out there and they say crap like this:

“Halloween is Un-Australian”

‘We don’t celebrate Halloween. It is American”  (my personal favourite and the one you hear the most)

Yes, yes. Just like the devil himself I’m sure.

Now I was going to get on here and lecture you twats (not all of you, just the hater ones) about the history of Halloween and trick or treating (because SURPRISE, it’s not even from America) but you know what? It’s not important. You’ll just say that the tradition is something that has mostly been popular in America despite its origins and you’d be right. We have flat out copied this holiday in the current from from the States. What a disgrace, Australia!

Let me tell you something for nothing, peeps, just because I love you even though you’re doing all the hating. Australia (in its current form – and please, I mean no respect to the native land owners) is a very young country and pretty much NONE of the traditions we celebrate here, come from here.

Christmas? Nope. Easter? Nope. New Years celebrations? Nope. Almost any other damn day or holiday season you choose will be a nope too. Except for if we bothered to hold on to and celebrate any Aboriginal holidays or traditions but nope, we don’t do that either. Can’t see the “it’s un-Australian” whiners getting into that either somehow. Funny that. Anyway, I digress. My point is, we celebrate plenty of holidays that did not originate in Australia and we don’t seem to have a problem with any of them.

So what’s the freaking big deal about Halloween? Why are we getting ants in our pants for taking it on when it’s “not our tradition”? It makes no sense people. Makes no sense.

So, by all means, don’t celebrate the holiday if you don’t wish to. It’s a free country after all. You get the joy of choosing how you want to spend your time. Just don’t spit your little hate balls on my little Spiderman if he wanders past you in the street and says “trick or treat”. Because Halloween is now OUR tradition. We have taken it on. It has LOLLIES for crying out loud. Lollies. And dress ups. Enough said.

Man, you haters are crazy. No disrespect but you should totally untwist your knickers. Totally.

That’s all.

Happy Halloween folks.

mfs brand

38 thoughts on ““Halloween is Un-Australian”

  1. Well, I’m not Australian but as I was reading, I started thinking the same things! My first thought was, “Didn’t we all come from the European indentured servants anyhow?” Okay. I know that is not truly able to be a blanket statement but you know what I mean. Happy Halloween. We’ll be carving pumpkins and dressing up today to keep the spirits away.

  2. I’m a converted hater. We moved to a lovely little semi-rural suburban street a few years ago and it’s a big deal here. It’s nice. All the adults catch up, the classy ones carry a glass of vino around and chat. Then, of course, you can steal all the best lollies when the kids go to bed. It’s a winner for me.

  3. We grew up celebrating Halloween (Canada) however my husband who grew up in England didn’t celebrate it. He doesn’t really get it either but goes along for our girls sake. As a kid, it was a fun night to dress up in what ever you wanted and YES, get candy too. Now as a parent, I don’t love the event itself but do love the excitement it brings my little girls. They get SO much candy just by visiting a few houses, we keep some for them (limited as they are 4 and under), we have a little and then we pitch the rest. I have a hard time throwing out food but it can be too much sometimes.
    We are looking forward to taking our girls out tonight and giving out candy too! Happy Halloween 🙂

  4. Being American and very uncultured, I honestly had no idea that Halloween was considered American. (I’m probably the reason other countries hate us so much, lol.) Anyway, good for you! I love Halloween. My kids convinced me to dress up this year and I picked a character from one of their favorite bedtime stories, the Tickle Monster. It has been a lot of fun dressing up for all the events.

  5. Glad you had some fun. Screw the haters, they can just stay inside and be unsociable and not have fun by dressing up and having candy. Their loss 😉 I do envy Australian Halloween though, you probably don’t have to put your costume OVER a snowsuit there lol. Oh well, we’ll have fun anyways.

  6. “Fancy dress and sweets; what’s not to love about it?” I agree 🙂

    I do love the way it is worming it’s way to our country too in a very family-friendly form: my kids went excited to daycare dressed as a friendly pirate and a princess today. They were told there will be a party of friendly ghosts (or this is the version I got from the kids) and thought they would surely meet the friendly little Ghost Godfrey (great bedtime read if your child is afraid of ghosts), which means they were not at all scared. Anyway, they were excited, they’ll have a blast and there’ll be lollies! So far no trick or treating found in these altitudes though, I don’t know if I long for that part either…?

    Interesting to catch up on the history of Halloween, I had no idea.

  7. Trick or treat is not something that is really happening in The Netherlands in general although we now have loads more Halloween themed stuff then when I was young. Same with Santa Claus and Xmas presents, that commerce is promoting so much it is getting more and more populair.

    Interestingly, Samhain as the original tradition is from here (celtic/germanic Europe) but then got forgotten and is now back from the US in the form of the Halloween tradition. And in some parts of the NLD, there is the tradition of St-Maarten, on the 11th of November, where children go door to door with lanterns to collect candy.

    In my town, the Halloween trick and treat is introduced by an American lady living here a couple of years ago. It is quite populair now and I have been dressing up as well in previous years (although I just went to the bar to party). At least it does make a great theme for fancy dressing!

  8. I don’t object to Halloween, and I agree that most stuff is fun, especially for kids. I do, however, object to the concept of trick or treating which did seem to originate in America. Not because it is American, but because all year long, we tell children “don’t take lollies from strangers, stay away from adults you don’t know”, now all of a sudden it’s ok on that one night? I don’t agree with teaching children that mentality.

    • I’m sorry but I have to say I disagree with this! I think we are truly underestimating our children if we believe they can’t tell the difference between a random stranger approaching them on the street to give them candy and us dressing up and chaperoning them from door to door with a special Halloween themed phrase. My son is 3 and I think that even he could tell the difference if I sat down to explain it to him. There are many many areas of life where the rules are inconsistent. I think we are doing ourselves and our children a disservice if we don’t teach them how to understand the inconsistencies.Thanks for your comment and sharing your point of view though. I love that it was different to mine as it made me consider my position. 🙂

  9. If you ask kids what Halloween is all about I bet they’ll say “lollies”…disgraceful…right?? And if you ask kids what Christmas is all about and they’ll say “presents”!! Not much different really is it???

  10. I had no idea Halloween wasn’t a ‘thing’ in Australia. Very interesting. I think it’s awesome to see people dressed up. They actually had a Halloween costume contest at the office Friday. Even the EVP was fully decked out. Pretty fun, actually. And then at the airports in Atlanta and Charlotte there were tons of children and adults dressed up! 🙂

  11. Lol. I’m from the uk (where we have celebrated Halloween for yonks and, btw, only dress as scary stuff). I live in Catalonia (Spain) now and it’s so funny: they say exactly the same thing! Halloween haters!! They have a chestnut festival going around this time, and a holiday on day of the dead so in my eyes it fits PERFECTLY! I’m totally for local traditions, love them and always join in, I’m also all for celebrating anything going: Diwali, Chanukah, solstices, whatever, bring it on. Of all the negative shit that globalization (and sadly, lots of the time American corporations. Note I said corporations there, not people, before I get slammed) bring : Macdonald’s, Starbucks, Monsanto, this is a is a GOOD one. Two last words: baby. Bath water. 😉

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

