Dr Joshi’s Holistic Detox – Food Diary – Week 1

Here is is! The diary you’ve all been waiting for. The food ideas have become easier as the week has gone on. I have lots of great stuff in mind for the coming week from making my own gluten free bread to yummy chicken rissoles. Stay tuned!

Day 1

Hot water with lemon and ginger  

B – puffed brown rice, millet, rice milk, honey and cinnamon

L – homemade lentil & vege soup I had in freezer – must make another batch as it is perfect for the detox.

D – salmon fillet, carrot and beans

Snacks: celery and carrot sticks, rice crackers

That breakfast option is pretty damn bland without the honey and cinnamon. The texture isn’t that great either. I’m persevering until I have the ingredients together to make my own homemade gluten and fruit free muesli. Stay tuned!

Salmon and veg

Friday night’s Salmon + veg

Day 2

Whoops. In a hurry and late for daycare drop off so forgot lemon water today. Better luck tomorrow.

B: puffed brown rice, millet, rice milk, honey and walnuts* – much better today, the added walnuts give the texture and flavour variety that was needed.

L: poached egg on bed of baby spinach and rocket (squeezed lemon on greens and then egg), Helgas gluten free, dairy free bread (sunflower see and red quinoa variety) with vegan butter, salt and pepper.

D: homemade honey soy# chicken stirfry – used broccoli, carrot, kale for veges, served with brown rice

Snacks: herbal tea, raw cauliflower, banana

*Joshi has all nuts except pinenuts and seeds to be avoided on his list. However, he then goes on to use nuts in some of his recipes. I know he explicitly says “no peanuts” but I think good nuts are fine in moderation. The problem is that they are acidic in the body and we are trying to reduce the acid level with the detox.

#soy sauce has gluten in it so you have to use Tamari (a gluten free soy sauce basically) which is the standard soy sauce in my cupboard anyway. A hangover from doing Dr Joshi the first time!

Lunch was AMAZING. Squeezing lemon juice (from the fruit, not the bottle folks) on the greens and then the egg was pure genius. Either that or I was so hungry a piece of cardboard would have tasted pretty good.

Chicken mayo dish

Saturday’s lunch – chicken with homemade mayo, celery and eschallots

Day 3

Forgot the lemon water again. Daycare days we are just so under the pump to get out of the house on time so I can go for my run before working. I even got moving today by 6:30am but still only made it out in a lick of time…and didn’t get the dishes done. *sigh*

B – green banana smoothie: frozen banana, 1 cup baby spinach, 1tbs chia seeds, 1 tbs sesame seed, protein enriched rice milk.

L: Left over honey soy chicken stir fry.

D: Warm salad of: home roasted beetroot, chicken, green beans, rocket, baby spinach, pinenuts, brown rice (left over from last night’s dinner) and juice of 1.5 small lemons. DIVINE.

Snacks: carrot sticks, rice cakes (thin)

After 10 days of virtually no dairy and 3 days of this detox my nails feel stronger than ever. How bizarre.

I’m getting sick of carrot.

Gluten free breadrolls

If you need gluten and dairy free rolls try these. Available at Coles

Day 4

Today feels challenging as we are going to be out at a theme park all day. I am attempting to pack my lunch and snacks.

B: puffed brown rice, millet, rice milk, honey and walnuts – I actually even enjoyed this today. Monkey also asked for some and seemed to like it too! How quickly we adjust to things!

L: Leftover beetroot salad from last night’s dinner

D: Sweet potato wedges*

Snacks: snow peas (mange tout), carrot, celery, banana, , rice crackers, small dairy free gluten free vegan organic honeycomb chocolate (Monkey’s but he didn’t like it so I ate it. Not so great as it clearly contains sugar but OK as a small treat).

*I’d like to say I made these myself but, alas, I did not. I stopped at the local fresh fish store to get a piece of salmon for dinner and saw the wedges on their takeaway menu. The day had been long and active so I decided to treat myself. The wedges had no salt or seasoning but were obviously deep fried. Probably not awesome for detox purposes but not too bad either. I’d been going to make my own. Mine would have been par boiled, then oven baked and done with olive oil. I never did get around to making the fish so it’s in the fridge for tomorrow night.

Homemade hummus

Homemade hummus – I’ll never buy from the store again!

Day 5

Lemon and ginger hot water

B: puffed brown rice, millet, rice milk, honey and walnuts

L: vege chips*

D: grilled salmon fillet, baby spinach and rocket topped with lemon juice, broccoli and roasted sweet potato

Snacks: carrot, banana

I have THE CRAVINGS today. Really want something sweet, naughty or both. I think it’s because I’ve let a couple of processed items slip into the mix. The more pure my diet is, the less I even think about it. Going to try and make it as clean as possible this coming week. The project for the weekend is to make homemade hummus, pesto (sans dairy) and mayonnaise. That ought to make things a bit more interesting for meals in the week coming (those are the pictures you see throughout the post).

*the vege chips were not homemade roasted veges although they should have been. I was out at Monkey’s dad’s place and he had NOTHING but he did have these chips. They were dairy free, gluten free, msg free, egg free, preservative and additive free AND the bag explicitly said NO NASTIES. So they were as good as I was going to get for processed food. Funny I should have bad cravings in the afternoon then, no? No.

Chicken and homemade pesto on toast

Chicken and my homemade pesto – Sunday lunch

Day 6

Today is my first EVER park run. I’m SO excited. Can’t wait to see my time. Fingers crossed I’m doing as well as I think.

Remembered hot water with lemon and ginger today.

B: banana (before run), poached egg on bed of baby spinach and rocket (squeezed lemon on greens and then egg), Helgas gluten free, dairy free bread with vegan butter, salt and pepper x 2 (post run – I was starving!)

L: Gluten free, wheat free, dairy free high fibre breadroll with chicken breast, homemade mayo (detox approved recipe), celery and eschallots.

D:  OUT FOR DINNER

Snacks:  homemade hummus and carrot, celery and snow peas

The mayo recipe came out of the detox book. It is very simple – egg yolks, lemon juice and olive oil. It was OK. Not fabulous. Not great. Just OK. I’ll use it up and won’t rush to make it again.

The breadroll without all those things in it was actually REALLY yummy. I thought it tasted a tad sweet but when I checked the bag it says only 1g of sugar per serve. Is that a lot? It doesn’t seem so much. 1.3% in total.

The hummus was AMAZING. Online recipe here. I’ll never buy hummus again. This is better than any I’ve ever eaten and I can make it myself so easily.

Dinner was out at a local Thai tapas restaurant. As it is tapas it is impossible to be picky…everyone is sharing the food. The food there is amazing and of exceptional quality. It is all freshly prepared. I ate some non detox foods but it was all whole foods so I’m OK with that.

Did a personal best on the Park Run btw…5kms in 26:48.

Roast chicken

Roast chicken fresh out of the oven

Day 7

Forgot the hot lemon water today. *sigh* It appears this is a bit haphazard

B: Green banana smoothie – see ingredients under Day 3.

L: chicken with homemade pesto on 2 slices of toasted gluten free bread

D: roast chicken with onion, carrot, parsnip and sweet potato. Homemade gravy from juices with stock and cornflour.

Snacks: carrot and celery sticks and homemade hummus, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, herbal tea

The pesto is divine! I’ll only make my own from now on. That and hummus. YUMMMMMMMM!

 

The Verdict: all in all I think this week has gone really well. I am more than happy with my food options now I am in the swing of things and I am feeling really healthy. This week’s goal is to eat nothing processed at all. Let’s see how that goes.

If you have any questions about anything please don’t hesitate to ask. I am happy to help where I can.

Rachael xo

********************************

I post Tuesdays and Thursdays and the odd bonus post just like this one. Stop by and say hi.

If you are a blogger and share my post  leave me a comment and let me know and I’ll make it a priority to check out your blog too.

 

44 thoughts on “Dr Joshi’s Holistic Detox – Food Diary – Week 1

  1. Is puffed brown rice the light, fluffy stuff? Are you feeling good? How’s the eczema (that’s what your watching closely, right?)?

    For our mayo, I usually use apple cider vinegar instead. Plus a little mustard, salt, garlic powder and onion powder. I try to use the lightest tasting olive oil I have. It’s not exceptionally yummy on its own (I always liked the taste of Miracle Whip so that’s my standard! Bad, I know!) but it’s really good in salads/chicken salad, etc.

    I’ve been doing this thing where I’m supposed to drink 32 ounces of warmish water with a little salt within one hour of waking. I need to keep working on it! Let’s drink together! Cheers!

  2. This is brilliant – and you have been feeding yourself such awesome food!!!! I am going to shamelessly copy your post and do a similar one after my no dairy week (with credit of course ;-). I’m actually really excited about being dairy free – I’ve thought about it on and off for literally years but never dared attempt it before.

    And woah girl – your 5k time!!!!!!!!!

    You are FAST!!!!!!! I can only dream of maintaining that kind of speed. Seriously, my eyes popped out on stalks – it was only a while ago that you were doing just a few minutes of running at a time. Amazing. X

    • I know, I was pretty surprised myself!!!! Who knew I had it in me?

      You can go ahead and copy anything you want. That’s why I’ve posted it, so others can get inspiration for their own restrictive diets. Looking forward to seeing how your elimination goes. x

  3. Sounds like you are doing great! It is so hard to stay stoing in the face of temptation and “real food”… you are doing great! keep up the good work!

    La-

  4. Somehow you make detox food sound yummy! Once we are settled somewhere for a longer period of time I plan on doing a serious detox and whole foods eating plan. That is one thing I really miss, easily found organic whole foods. 🙂 Good job on the run! Keep it up!

  5. I’ve saved this so that I can peruse the internet for some of the ingredients. I love the idea of the home made pesto and hummus. I love both and if it tastes better than shop bought and is better for us, bonus. Have you also lost weight on this? I’m imagining that with so little of fat and dairy that would be a foregone conclusion.
    Thanks for posting this. Takes so much of the work out of trying. Oh, is there a list of suitable substitutes in the book or do you just play that by ear based on your own knowledge of what you’ve read? x

    • Yes I lost about 1.5kg last week. I only see the loss as sustainable if I continue to eat really cleanly post detox. As for substitutes do you mean for dairy and gluten or jist in general?. He suggests some things and I have also done a bit of research. The industry has expanded a heap since he wrote the book too so there are so many more options readily available.

      • I meant substitutes for what he suggests as meal choices. Either because they may be difficult to obtain. Or I might not take to them. Although everything you put in your diary I think I could manage. 🙂
        If you keep running you probably will maintain weight loss. My hubby eats like a horse at times but he runs every day so his metabolism is geared up to eat whatever whenever. 😉 x

      • His book as reasonably detailed so there are suggestions in there for sure. He also has a recipe section. I don’t think I’ve made anything from his recipe section this time. I’ve just used it for inspiration for base ingredients and then mixed them up my own way.

        Oh how I’d love love love to be able to eat whatever whenever. Wouldn’t that be nice!!!

  6. Pingback: Overdue Thanks | Winding Road

  7. Pingback: Dr Joshi’s Holistic Detox – Food Diary – Week 2 | mummy flying solo

  8. Pingback: Dr Joshi’s Holistic Detox – One month on | mummy flying solo

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

