Road Runner: BEEP BEEP

Road runner image

This was me yesterday

This was me yesterday. Burning up a dust cloud behind me.

It was my first ever “official run” and it’s really not even THAT official, just officially timed but it was with a group of 57 other lovelies so it kind of felt like a proper competition run.

I rocked up at the venue (aka the park) and there were a bunch of other people standing around in shiny lycra doing stretches and I was feeling pretty good. I was excited and nervous but most of all, I felt part of the crowd. I knew I could run 5ks so it was no big deal. I was going to RUN this thing. I’d been training. I was not a fraud.

Everyone has been telling me that I’m pretty fast so I thought I was going to do OK, hold my own in the crowd. But what I think they meant is fast for a beginner because out of the 58 people that ran yesterday there were 30 of them in front of me.

I have to say, I hated every damn minute of that run. It felt really hard and I felt like my body just hadn’t shown up that day. I started out fairly high in the pack but then just felt like I was drifting back and back and back.

My head was doing this:

Man I mustn’t be that fast after all.

Am I coming last now? Fuck, I think I’m coming last.

It doesn’t matter if you are coming last, just finish this this.

Man, it hurts, I wanna walk.

You can’t walk, it’s only 5ks. You CAN RUN 5ks. There is NO WAY you are walking in this group of people.

Far out, I can’t believe I’m being overtaken again. I must be running so slowly today.

And so on and so forth for THE WHOLE 5KS.

I made a half hearted attempt to overtake someone in the last 1km but that didn’t last long and she scooted past my arse again before too long. In the end I just sucked it up and kept on running.

It was hard. And I was thinking that, maybe, group runs aren’t for me. What a sook.

I crossed that finish line to find that I’d actually placed 31 in the pack of what I’d estimated to be 40 or 50 people. I now know it was 58 people so I was just under half way.

I had timed it on my running app but forgotten to check it right away so I got an initial rough time of 27:23 for the run. Immediately my heart lifted! That’s actually a PB for me. NO WONDER IT HURT. Suddenly, I didn’t feel so bad.

And then around midday, the offical time was emailed to me. It was:

26:48

OMG I jumped up and down and high fived myself. I was SO excited. This is a good 2 mins better than my previous PB.

Turns out I LOVE group runs. And the reason I was finding the run so hard was that I was pushing myself to keep up with the crowd, to go that bit faster, to give it all I had.

Aaahhhhh so that’s what that feels like eh?

Fucking loved it. It was brilliant. I felt brilliant. I felt like the Road Runner. And now I’m hooked.

Hope you had a great weekend folks.

Beep beep!

*********************************

I post Tuesdays and Thursdays and sometimes a bonus post like this. Pop by and say hi!

32 thoughts on “Road Runner: BEEP BEEP

  1. Nice job! We love what we’re good at don’t we? We hate it until we realize we did well and then we love it . Haha! Happy you found a new passion! I know lots of runners that are totally addicted to the races, my sister is one. I haven’t been bitten by the bug though but admire those who have.

  2. As a former fellow runner (I had to stop once my body succumbed to pregnancy hormones and I could barely leave the bathroom, let alone run. I have promised myself I will start again once my body is able.) I can say that is a really pretty good time! I was never a speed demon, but felt pretty happy just doing 5kms in 30 minutes, so you blasted that time considerably! Good work!

  3. Lol. Told you you’d become addicted. 😉 I can’t run for toffee. I remember taking part in a race at one of my kids’ school events. I was second last to a woman who was six months pregnant! Go you.
    Hubby is ready to set out now on his run and it is pissing from the skies so he can basically swim it. 🙂 x

  4. Fantastic job girl! Wow, that’s fast! Funny, how when you are out with others running you think you are doing such a terrible job (time) and then do better then you thought!

  5. Pingback: monthly challenges recap: January edition | my year[s] of sweat!

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

