Thoughts on God

I’m not a particularly religous person. Hell, I’m not religious at all. but that doesn’t mean that I’m godless or that I don’t at least have thoughts on God.

It is something I have been thinking of a lot more lately which is interesting. Maybe now that I’m a mother? Or perhaps now that I have some peace within myself? Hmmmm maybe not the second one. God seems to get more of a run in times of crisis from what I hear. So I’m not sure what’s prompted the thinking.

Usually I’m the type to tick the “spiritual but not religous box” because I have the belief that there is something more to life than I can understand, that science can identify or that logic can tell us. I usually call it “the universe” which is pretty common for people who identify with this sort of idea.

When you think about it though what we really are, are non religous believers.

You can take almost any divine statement and put “the universe” in it and it will work.

He will provide.

I trust that He will tell me what is next.

I did not fail. He needed me to learn this lesson.

He will show me the way.

And so on and so forth. The universe can be substituted into any of these.

Despite this I do find myself substituting “the universe” with God in my mind a lot more these days but I don’t see much in that. It’s just a label that more clearly identifies that there is more out there. More going on.

So why am I eschewing religion?

To me religion seems to alienate where it is supposed to accept. Within ranks, sure, it is kind, loving and accepting provided you live by the rules. As soon as you step outside those rules it judges. And correct me if I’m wrong (I’m no authority on the bible) but wasn’t the point of Jesus being born to a virgin to show that we shouldn’t judge? That sometimes there are circumstances that we don’t know or understand that bring certain outcomes? That seems the point of that story to me. But like I said, I’m no authority on religion. Beside that isn’t “Thou shall not judge” a commandment? It seems an awful lot of Christians I know don’t live by that commandment. Hell, most humans don’t life by it. So are they all going to hell?

If they are good people then I don’t think so. I don’t think the point of God is to pass judgement and deny you entry into a pleasant afterlife. The point of God is to teach love and kindness and acceptance and to look further than the self in life. But it seems so many people seem to miss that. Personally, I think I can do all these things without aligning myself with a particular faith. So rather than choosing the Bible over the Koran or the Torah or any other religious text, I choose not to choose them altogether.

I choose basic principles to live my life by. I pray to the unknown. I accept guidance where it is provided by whatever it is that is out there. And that is that. THIS is my “God”.

Just because I do not choose the traditional methods of faith doesn’t mean I judge you if you do. And to me, that’s really the point of it all. Remove the judgement. Accept all beliefs. Be kind about it. STOP killing in the name of it for crying out loud. That would be a start. And then we might have half a chance of getting there.

***********************

PS I had to write this post twice before I got it right. Super complex topic with soooo much more to it but I tried to keep it short. PLEASE know, that it certainly wasn’t meant to offend so I hope it does not.

I blog Tuesdays and Thursday. Drop on by!

22 thoughts on “Thoughts on God

  1. I am not a religious person per se. I do not have a problem with religion, I have a problem with the horrible things people do “in the name of” their religion. I am a practicing Buddhist myself, which is not a religion but a philosophy and that’s why I like it. Rather than giving you a set of rules, and expecting you to do the work, it gives you the “how tos” you need to live a full and happy life. Being a control freak there were times when I wished I was religious because it would be so much easier to leave things “in god’s hands” but… You know my motto is do what works for you, so I definitely accept all people’s beliefs, but it is hard sometimes. For example my grandmother in law is very religious (she was a missionary) and she is completely against homosexuality. I have many good LGBT friends and they are no different from me, so to hear her persecuting them breaks my heart. You are right, it is a super complex topic and not one I look forward to talking about with my kids (how do you explain things, never mind on a level a child will understand?) Thanks for posting.

    • I love Buddhism and while I am not a follower I do adopt many of the philosophies into my life. I think it does a great job of getting us to focus on not only ourselves but others.

      I agree re homosexuality. It was is one of those “judgements” that I was subtly referring to. It doesn’t sit well with me at all that certain people are excluded from “religion”.

      Oh and my gosh, I have no idea how I will eventually broach this with my son and any future kids. I want him to believe whatever he feels is right. I guess my role is to present him with the different options and let him choose.

      Thanks for the thought provoking comment. 🙂

  2. The universe, yep I’m down with that too. Gratitude, acceptance, trying yo be present and when all goes completely tits up, surrendering to it and having faith that the universe has a plan. This faith has got me through a lot.
    Also not into organized religion for most of the reasons you state. Though I do find that in the absence of organized religion, one can lack routine and support. There’s a lot to be said for rituals and routines and community.
    No one way, we all muddle through.
    Thanks for a nice read!

    • I totally agree. The major benefit of organised religion is the sense of community it provides, especially to those that have no other community. It is so valuable. My problem with that is that the community can also exclude. And that’s frustrating. Sounds like we re pretty much on the same page. Glad you enjoyed the read!

  3. I use “the universe” all the time, and can openly say I’m not religious. Am fully at peace with that, finally. I think society has, for so long, tried to make people who have refused organized religion feel as though they are bad (amoral, unethical, …dare I say, evil..). I’m not ashamed of the fact that I eschew religion. I know who I am, and what I believe – and don’t need to align that to a specific book of writings or group that meets once a week.
    great post!

  4. Great post Racheal! I totally emphthize with you! I think as we get older we start to notice little, or more miracles and wonder if maybe their might be a plan or a higher power behind our lives. Go with it! Ask questions. I ran into a great video from an Oprah show that may help you out as well. Like one person said on her show (George Lucas), You don’t have to beleive in God but you feel a lot more alone with out Him.

    http://www.oprah.com/own-super-soul-sunday/Marianne-Williamson-on-Forgiveness-and-Divine-Compensation-Video

    • I LOVE this video! Thanks for sharing. I think it is applicable too for those who don’t believe in God but believe in the universe. Like I said “same same”. It is a great explanation of the coexistence of fate and free will. i LOVE it. 🙂

  5. I do have an issue with organized religion. God is awesome – people.. .not so much! LOL. But, it was important to me to raise my son so that he had a basis of faith. What he does with it is up to him, but I’ve given him the start and opportunity and started him on the path to discover it for himself.

    • I think that is amazing. I wonder what I will do for Monkey. His dad and I share similar beliefs so I think all we can do is explain what is out there, that we believe there is something more and then let him decide for himself how he wants to demonstrate that.

  6. Growing up in a very religious family, and as a believer to this day, Ill now give you my completely unsolicited opinion. The only one who can tell you what God thinks is God. God did not create religion, man did, and if God created all things, then science is among them. ❤

    • I LOVE this comment. I did on first reading but then I also love it as it made me THINK. Nothing better than that. I particularly love this: The only one who can tell you what God thinks is God. GREAT.

      The thinking part came with the second part of the comment. I agree that man made religion but I also believe (after some research and thought) that he made science. God (or the universe or however you like to describe it) made the things that science describes and explains. Science itself though, the function of exploration, is man made. Thank you for such a thought provoking comment.

  7. Rituals and mythology are great way for groups to collaborate on a joint understanding. The understandings of different groups are going to be different because of thier different contexts.

    As an agnostic I used to pick on athiests, for picking on religions but now I realise that was hypocritical.

    Thanks for posting 🙂

  8. Sounds like we have the same “religion” 😉 I’m not religious either, I don’t need the ceremony and structure, in fact, I feel more in touch with my spirituality without those things. I believe that those who are spiritual believe in the same thing, they just call it different names and align with it differently. As you likely know, yoga has truly become my form of church and that Oneness is my God. Jesus was an enlightened man that we can all benefit learning from, as was Buddha. They are guiding us in the same direction just with different methods. If we could all accept that the One we love and connect to is the same, we might tolerate the various ways of perceiving it better. Who knows, one can hope,right?

    • I agree with you 100%. I believe the feeling we have inaide us when making that connection is the same for everyone. I too believe Jeaus as a person probably did exist as a very enlightened man. We def seem to hold the same religious beliefs 🙂

  9. I choose to be a Christian. I choose to follow the greatest commandment: Love. I will not pin God to my beyond childish understanding of anything. I don’t think any of my fellow Christians ought to either–but again–I call out that I don’t know. My Hindi and Jewish friends pray for me when I ask them to. I pray for them. I raise my children firmly in the Christian faith. I believe it is helpful and grounding to have a specific faith–to have a strong framework in place. I find in life that I prefer to “know the rules” and then be able to “choose” a different path and “break the rules” based on my experiences and learnings; I don’t like being clueless, wondering, searching. My faith and belief have definitely changed over the years, but the foundation is the same. I know you didn’t ask what I believe so I guess I’m sorry for just spilling that all out there! But know that you are thought of, you and your little son. Take care!

    • I love hearing the beliefs of others. I’m a massive fan of prayer as I believe it is very powerful. It is also a beautiful gift from someone when they offer you their prayer. I don’t think it matters who they pray to. The gift is that it carries true meaning for them. I pray. I think we all do. I think we are fundamentally all doing the same thing when we say we believe in something. We just call it different names. I love your one true commandment. Beautiful. 🙂

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

