Les Résolutions

love heart

The best way to achieve goals is to make yourself accountable…so I’m doing it. Here they are! The New Year’s Resolutions for 2014.

2014 Resolutions

1. Do everything I can over the year to KEEP my resolutions.

2. Floss teeth – given that I didn’t do it last year I think I should have a crack at it again this year. I’m going for twice a week to begin with and then we’ll work on it from there. I’m getting a step ahead this year and have even researched the best time and way to floss my teeth. Yes, I’m taking this VERY seriously!

3. Meditate – I got slack on the meditation after doing the challenge last year. I started to replace it with running which has worked well but I believe that 2 or 3 sit down seshes a week would be of benefit. OK let’s just say 2.

4. Read more – I’m onto this already and have joined a bookclub! We meet once a month which means 12 books a year. So that’s my goal this year. Read 12 books. CAN’T WAIT.

5. Exercise 6 days per week. It’s going to look something like this:

  • Jog x 3 + strength training post jog at home
  • Weight sesh at gym 2 days per week – do a double circuit
  • Yoga or Pilates x 1 (or whatever else I feel like if that isn’t going to work out)

6. Get published – REGULARLY. What does regularly look like? Hmmmm. Let’s say 6 pieces published for money this year. I was going to say 12 but that feels lofty. I can also get some unpaid published work to puff it out a bit.

7. Expand business – which simply means GET MORE CLIENTS. I am in two minds about this as more work will eventually need to result in Monkey having an extra day per week in daycare and I’m not sure we are ready for that yet but I think we can squeeze one or two more clients in before that needs to happen. Achieving number 6 also impacts this resolution.

8. Create business identity: register business name, have logo and website designed.

9. Be more beautiful. And to get what I mean by that you need to go read this. It’s not what you think.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

So that’s that my friends. 9 of the little beauties in the end. Let’s see if I can’t set this year on fire!

I think it’s important to remember that we also need to be flexible within our choices. So where I’ve chosen to create the business identity by doing certain things, it might turn out that things work out another way and those tasks aren’t the right path for me. If I get to the end of the year and have made progress in the business in general then I will be happy.

And for some reason, even though I’m not a pink person, this post simply felt right with all that pink. Don’t know what that is all about but I’m going with it.

Have you got you list all sorted? It’s perfectly OK to start late you know. You don’t miss the boat if you slept through Jan 1. Today is always a good day to begin.

***********************************************

I blog Tuesdays and Thursdays so make sure you pop in and share your thoughts. I love hearing from you!

46 thoughts on “Les Résolutions

    • Thanks Michaela! Yes I’m really going to put more time into that this year. First step is to go back and read that great email you sent me with info. I got so snowed under with other stuff last year that I didn’t even try! No more excuses now!

      • Ok…I have to ask…(sorry if it’s nosey!) – What email? Is it, by chance an email that gives you tips on getting published?! If so, might I ask that you share it? I so want to be published and just have no idea where to start…other than my blog. Help?

      • Haha no probs at all. It was mainly just some suggestions for me with the main gist being to choose a topic and then pitch it to your publication. So her example for me was single parenting and parenting publications. I can’t remember the exact info right now but when you pitch you obviously need to tell them why they’d want to publish your piece and what sort of content and sources you mean to include to support your story, if it’s that’s type of piece. I’ll leave another message if there is any more info I can pass on but once I reread the email but I think that about covers it.Good luck!

  1. What a great list of resolutions!! And thank you so much for sharing the link about being beautiful. I am going to post that on my daughters FB page (as well as my own). Good luck! We are all here to help hold each other accountable – so just know that I’m counting on you! (No pressure…lol) 😉

  2. Pingback: A Better, Healthier Year | Momma Needs Coffee

  3. I love that you’ve researched flossing! LOL! Great goals for 2014, maybe we can hold eachother accountable on meditating, but then it makes it seem like a chore. I still haven’t done it when the notification goes off in the morning. I really like my coffee and reading catchup at that time, maybe I just need to find a better time, like middle of the day.

    • Ooooo we should totally try to help each other stay accountable with the meditating. If morning isn’t working for you then you should def try a different time of day. So far I’ve done zero meditations so seems we are atthe same level still 😉

  4. That is a great list, Rach – and I’m with you on the meditation front. Definitely one of my top must-do’s this year. Enough talking about it and time to actually do it.

    If you have any tips on getting paid published work, I’d love to hear them. I’m very, very interested in spending more time writing, especially if I can earn some income doing it.

    Go you with your strength training! I can’t wait to hear about your progress. So awesome when you start to see the muscle definition (and the resultant metabolism boost!).
    xoxo

    • Kerry from Winding Road is also looking to try to introduce meditation this year. We should try to think of a way we can incentivise each other without it becoming a chore!

      The paid publish work tips I have (which are rather few at present) are in a comment above. Someone else asked the same thing. If I ever DO get published I’m more than happy to let you guys know what I did to make that happen.

      xoxo

      • Love the idea of you, me and Kerry doing some kind of meditation challenge together. That would be pretty awesome. Now to think if what that looks like…

  5. I buy floss picks, they are so much easier than regular floss – despite my big mouth, I have a tiny jaw and it hurts to try and floss the regular way. Floss picks are super easy! I floss several times a day now! 😉
    Good luck, I think you have some great resolutions!

    • I have tried the floss picks before with mixed results. I think I have to make sure to buy the right ones!! I now have these floss on a stick thing where there is this piece of floss strung tightly between two points. It’s not bad. 🙂

  6. You are going to publish 6 pieces for money? You mean 6 books? Where on the Pulitzer Prize collection on amazon can I find your work? If they’re articles, which venerable magazines can I find them in?

    • haha you know all those writers out there that say they have a book in them? Well I’m not one of those. I really don’t have a book in me. So no Pulizter Price collections over here. I’ll have to leave that one to you. I just wish to publish articles with online publications for money. But I suspect you knew that and that you just don’t see this is publishing. So you can call it whatever you like but if they pay me for it then I’m happy!

  7. Holy crap, you are really grabbing the bull by the horns, aren’t you? Let me know if there is any way I can help you from this side of the world. I am also terrible about flossing. Even knowing that gingivitis gives a 15% higher stroke risk hasn’t made me a better flosser!

    I didn’t really make resolutions, but I did come to some conclusions in that Living Thankfulness exercise that I plan to work on, nay, am working on. I’ve got a couple family goals too (upgrade to a more rural friendly vehicle, make a plan for beginning the process of building a house, potty train Crazy Pants).

    What is your business and what sort of things do you publish for money? Perhaps they are related??

    Have a beautiful day!

    • Hey lovely! Yeah I’m really getting into i5 this year lol. I didn’t know that about the stroke risk. I’ve alwqys had problematic gums so this shows me I REALLY need to floss. I managed once last week. Here’s to twice this week.

      My business involves freelance writing and bookkeeping and admin support so technically I already get paid for writing but most of it is ghost writing. It’s pretty simple stuff at the moment ao low paying. I’m hoping to do more juicy stuff for better $. We’ll see.

      You have some great goals there which is all resolutions really are.

      Lovely to see you drop by!! You have a beautiful day too!

  8. Great list! I have been slowly working mine out… I usually do a One Little Word and focus on that more than my resolutions anyway- but I usually try to create a few! LOL Love your list… and always the humor that accompanies your posts! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    La-

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

