Just because the head beats you one day, doesn’t mean that it’s over every day: The secret to keeping your New Year’s resolutions.

New Year meme

Number 1 on the resolution list this year!

I figured that as it is New Year’s Eve that I should write the obligatory post about resolutions. Which makes it sounds like I hate resolutions and I so don’t!! They are awesome and I think I have cranked out 8 for 2014 so far. Boy am I motivated this year (compared to last year when I could come up with only one – flossing my teeth daily – and then proceeded to never do it).

So yes, resolutions.

But then I had two shit runs two days in a row and I really wanted to write about that instead because it was a case of my head absolutely killing me out there. I finally understand what people mean when they say running is a bitch of mistress. Do they say that? In my head they do. (Btw I just googled it and they don’t). Whatevs. Because I know her and SHE IS.

Anyway, it was hard.

And then I realised that the running and resolutions, well they are related. Stay with me. Here’s how it goes.

Sunday I got up at 6am while on holiday I’ll have you know and died 20 mins into my 28 min run. I had run 28 mins straight no problem my two runs before this so I don’t know what was going on. We were about 5 hours up the coast and it was really hot really early in the day so I put it down to that. No biggie.

I decided to repeat the run again yesterday afternoon once we got home. It was actually rather cool for a summer’s day so can’t blame the climate this time. Anyway 8 mins in I pulled the pin. EIGHT MINUTES. What the hell is wrong with me???

I have no idea but what I do know is that it is just a phase. I’ve had shit running days before and they pass. I just have to keep at it. Keep on pounding, keep on pounding. And I’ll keep on doing that 28 min run until I finish the damn thing (day 3 of week 8 couch to 5k btw – one more week to go after this!). Eventually it will feel easy again and I’ll blitz it and even improve my speed. The situation is only temporary.

And this is how we need to treat our New Year’s resolutions, whatever they are. So often we start vigorously and then we have a bad day and we stop. Or we feel sick and we don’t go to the gym. Or we are at a party and eat our weight in cakes, cheese and sugar. Or we get drunk and light a cigarette because they go so well with drinking. And we tell ourselves oh well, I’ve screwed it all up now, no point in continuing.

Which is WRONG. So so so so WRONG.

The way to make a permanent change is to just keep on doing the thing, whatever that thing is. Do it when it sucks and then you’ll also get to do it when it feels good. Just keep doing. And I figure that if I can achieve that with my running then I can achieve it with everything else on my list. Why not?

You know, running might be a bitch of a mistress but she is also one hell of a teacher. I feel like hugging her and punching her in the face, ALL AT THE SAME TIME. It’s a bundle of slightly violent and conflicting emotions over here but it works. Trust me. I’m OK.

Good luck with those resolutions folks! I’m super excited about mine (yes, all 8 of them!). It’s going to be a cracker of a year. I can feel it.

See you all in 2014!

Rachael xo

New Year quote

********************************

I post Tuesday and Thursdays. Don’t forget to pop in and say hi! I love hearing from you.

PS. I’m still taking submissions on bonding with baby if you are wanting to send something in. My aim is to get the follow up piece out late January so there is still time people, still time.

28 thoughts on “Just because the head beats you one day, doesn’t mean that it’s over every day: The secret to keeping your New Year’s resolutions.

  1. so much goodness to comment on in this post. here are some stream of consciousness thoughts…
    1. Running is a bitch of a mistress. And I totally get the desire to simultaneously hug and punch her snotty ass.
    2. EXACTLY on the pulling the plug based on one bad day (or 2 or 3 even). The only way to achieve goals is to just keep doing. (I am proof of this… 🙂 )
    3. You rock for staying the course with the running.
    4. You really rock for setting 8 goals/resolutions for 2014.

    You go, girl. xoxo nancy

  2. Me too!! I love new year and i love resolutions! Me and dh make 10 every year ( biggies and little ones) and do a yearly review on new years eve. I love it and i love the idea of 365 blank pages 🙂 You are totally right – just keep at it, don’t give up at the first ( or hundreth) hurdle. I am always so excited at this time of year 🙂 The potential is unlimited!!!

    • Wow 10! What a lovely little tradition that you do together. I think I need to start something like that. I feel exactly the same about the NY. It seems so full of hope and to hold such a promise of good things. Happy New Year! Have fun with your little tradition with hubby!

  3. I love how positive this post is. Making changes is always hard and it is definitely important to not let ourselves down by abandoning just on account of a (or a few) bad days. Good luck with your resolutions (wait, you don’t need luck, just to kick yourself in the arse when the going gets tough ;)!

  4. You know, i’ve been reading about your runs and thinking I should get back at it (had to stop for 8 months due to an injury). But starting was hard; to find the time and the will and to find out how poorly you do after the break… Well, thanks to the constant reminders from the blog sphere I bought new running shoes AND I’ve been on 2 runs, and I did expected! So I’ll join your resolution to keep running next year, even when it doesn’t go so well. Happy new year!

    • Hooray! That’s awesome! So pleased you were inspired. I was actually inspired by another blogger in the first place. How awesome is that! Too bad you aren’t closer. I need a running partner! I think that would help with some of the issues I’m having. We will just have to egg each other on via the blogosphere! Happy New Year!

  5. The e-card is so true! I agree with you on treating the new year resolutions with excuses, it’s so hard to follow through. I think human beings need motivation, a kick from time to time. We need to relook at our list again and again, but even then, it can become so plastered to the wall, that even when you walk past, you don’t look at it anymore. Maybe we should have a quarterly, half-yearly resolution instead to restart things.

    • haha that’s a great idae Christy as I agree. We can just start to not see things that are right in front of our face. A little resolution refresh is worthwhile. Maybe I’ll do that this year! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  6. I have always wanted to run, but find that I am not very coordinated and tend to hurt myself. I love long long walks/hikes though and yoga. My resolution is to continue on with those no matter where we are. I love your post today. Thank you for the encouragement!

    • Awwww and thank YOU for reading. So pleased you enjoyed it! Thailand is the perfect place for some walking and yoga. I think if you ran there you’d risk falling over some uneven concrete and possibly breaking your leg so I think you’ve chosen well there. 🙂 Happy New Year!!

  7. So great Rachael! I have a few resolutions that I am going to work hard sticking to this year because last year’s resolution of becoming an avid juicer didn’t hold. I’d love to hear your others…is flossing teeth one? ha! xo

  8. Nice message lady. I’m still dilly dallying over which resolutions to pick…so much to do, can’t choose them all or will set myself up totally! Am thinking of concentrating perhaps on one thing per quarter? Like plan the year in 4 main resolutions!? Haha! Anyway, since I think you have had your new year now…happy new year, may 2014 bring unprecedentent creativity and light.

  9. Nicely done, nicely done! I took a class in college and actually finished a 10k. I ran a few 5ks after that, but I really do hate running. Sometimes I think about doing it again, but I hate running. The feeling after the 10k was amazing because I never thought I could do it. Hahaha…it just occurred to me that maybe I need to train for a half marathon since I’m pretty positive I can’t do that either 🙂

    Anyway…this was a great piece. Cheers.

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

