Yes, I lie to my child. And not just about Santa.

image

How's this for some Christmas spirit? (not my house btw)

‘Tis the season to be jolly. And deceitful apparently. Some people get really worked up about this whole Santa lie thing. Which I honestly didn’t even know was a thing until this year.  It’s not my thing but it gets quite a bit of airplay in the world that is parenting.

Personally,  I don’t buy into all that crap. Sure, Santa is a lie but so what?

I can go on about what Santa represents and the magic of Christmas yada yada yada but plenty of people out there have done it better than I could so I’ll leave you to read their posts on that.

What I am interested in are these folks that get so uppity about the lie. That suggests to me that they never EVER lie to their kids about ANYTHING. EVER.

Do you think this is really true? REAAAAAAAALLY?

I’m afraid I’m not convinced. I’m pretty sure that barely a day goes by where I don’t tell some small lie or at least a convenient interpretation of the truth.

I’ve tried the full truth thing but my little smarty pants kid seems to understand the difference between things that are within mummy’s control and things she just can’t change.  Like the weather for example. He gets I can’t change the weather. Strange, I know, but true.

Here’s some of my liar liar pants on fire favourites.

1. Monkey wants to go to the beach and we can’t because it’s sleep time/dinner time/lunchtime…  When I tell him that he tanties it out thinking he can change my mind. I hate tanties so my mission in life is to avoid them. Now if he asks for the beach at the wrong time I go for: the beach is closed / it’s too cold / too windy. You get the picture. These work.

2. Same thing applies for the park.

3. And bike riding.

4. Then we have the request for naughty food. Maybe I’ve bought one treat while we are out and he will just keep going back to it over and over again saying MORE. More. More. More.  Now I just tell him there is only one allocated for each little boy and girl and he has already had his. Again, it works.

5. The other day he whined and whined to go on the train after seeing one go past. I just said “Next time. We don’t have a tkt today and we need a tkt. We didn’t buy one in time.” Untrue but it worked. When is next time anyway?

So why am I so blasé about all this?

Children aren’t complete morons. As they get older and understand more of what is going on around them they will realise some of these mummy excuses just don’t fly and call you out on them. Just like they will with Santa Claus. And I’m OK with that. I’m not going to go to extreme lengths to keep the lies alive. Once I’m busted it will be done and we’ll move onto the next thing.

Besides you want to talk lies? My oh my that elf on the damn shelf is 25 straight days of it. SO not falling for that one (famous last words!).

Hey remember I promised you an Aussie Christmas treat? Here is the Aussie version of Jingle Bells. Hilaaaarious.

It’s a satire folks so don’t take it too seriously 😉

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!! XO

***********************************

I blog Tuesdays and Thursdays so pop in and check it out!

22 thoughts on “Yes, I lie to my child. And not just about Santa.

  1. Hahahaha ‘convenient interpretation of the truth’ How on earth do you parent without them?

    But seriously. These anti lying to children peeps, I ask, when does it stop? Please don’t tell me that these (crazy but truthful) parents say to little Johny boy when he shows his mummy a ‘wonderful’ drawing of a motorbike he has been working on for hours that actually resembles something more like an explosion of crayon on a bit of paper ‘oh darling that picture is not a motorbike, it doesn’t even look like anything, it’s pretty shit but keep trying precious!’ PUH-LEEEES. Whatever. You totally lie, liers.

  2. So true! I will have to use this with my husband as he keeps going on and on about lying to Z about Santa (he has agreed to let me keep the Santa tradition going, but still he doesn’t like it). Thanks!

    • Haha good luck!! I love the Santa thing. Funnily enough my son’s dad says he felt really cheated when he found out Santa wasn’t real so I guess it does have a less than great effect on some people. I don’t remember caring myself. I think the realisation was quite gradual over the years so it wasn’t too surprising and Santa was still going to come anyway so all in all things weren’t so bad!!

  3. To make you feel better: neither myself nor my brothers and sisters cared one lick when they found out that Santa isn’t real. As you reasonably point out: children aren’t complete morons. In an ideal world, as the kid gets smart enough to call out the lie, the kid will ALSO be smart enough to recognize the need for it. It was that way with me and my family; by the time we understood that Santa didn’t really exist, we also understood that having a “Christmas Spirit Mascot” was perfectly appropriate.

  4. I’m a totally liar! I never lied about Santa, once Mr. T started asking questions I was totally okay letting him know that Santa was the embodiment of the Christmas season, the good will, the joy and cheer. But, I lied all of the time when he was little!
    Merry Christmas!

  5. I think the whole Santa thing is based on personal experiences and choice. When a parent decides to tell their kid about Santa, I respect their decision. When a parent decides to opt out, I also respect their decision. We decided to not do Santa.

    The way I see it, it doesn’t reduce the magic of Christmas at all. One of the reasons I cited when I wrote about it, was that I felt like it was a lie. However, I do not think myself self-righteous to a point that I claim I will never tell my son a lie. I just choose to not lie about that, there is a distinction in my mind. The other reason, which is one I have not discussed, is that it *was* a big deal for me when I learned Santa wasn’t real.

    That aside, I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year! Take care!

    • Hey Sophie! I love that you have left me this comment as it reminded me that I left something very important out of my post and that is that I don’t judge either way. You can bat for either of the Christmas teams and that is up to you. This post was definitely more of an exploratiin into the lie as the reason. My son’s dad says he also felt really cheated when he found out Santa wasn’t real so I’m going to bear that in mind and try to ensure a little Santa discovery management at my end. The one thing I am sure of is that you can still enjoy Christmas without Santa. It is about so much more than that. Merry Christmas! I hope you and the family have a great day!

  6. The theme of your post is great!
    We don’t really lie about Santa, it is exciting to see him on the streets and obviously he is in the stories but I guess we are pretty casual about building the story up -we were both brought up that way so we never really evem thought about this.
    But I’d like to see the parent who answers with the whole truth when the neighbours 6yo has explained to your 3yo how her parents had to warm up naked in bed “before going to sauna” (after kids bedtime)… 😉
    I use “simplified truths” 😉 all the time take everyones lives easier!

  7. We were just discussing the whole “lying to your kids about Santa” thing at Xmas eve dinner with the extended family. I said, quite honestly, that I didn’t even remember when my kids found out about Santa. I looked at them and asked, “do you remember being sad/shocked/mad when you learned he was fake?”, they both looked at me like I was crazy. I’m not sure if I should interpret that as they never believed or that even though they did one time believe, that the knowledge of the truth caused zero trauma to them. 🙂

    You’re doing just fine momma!

  8. I’m so behind on my blog reading with the holiday and some family drama but wish I had read this sooner. We had this conversation Christmas Eve as well because i was telling my husband and mom the same thing you mentioned, that this year I read more people in uproar about lying to their kids. And we all know the zillions of counter arguments to that to which I vehemently agree. We are serious magic makers in our house, particularly their dad. And like Nancy said, there is no serious trauma when we find out the truth. When little, we want the magic then we reach an age when we want the truth. Its simple, kids should be allowed to be kids. Love the video! I can relate a bit living in FL, it never gets too cold, luckily we had some chilly days pre and post Christmas. xo!

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

