The unconditional love of a parent

In this talk, Love, no matter what,  Andrew Solomon looks at the unconditional love of a parent; particularly in situations where the child is different in some way to what is considered to be the norm. His research is absolutely fascinating and examines the topic as it applies to autism, dwarfism, homosexuality, downs syndrome and even the extreme of your child as a murderer and that’s just for starters. It also highlights the crossroads that we are at now with our potential to eliminate certain differences from our world through medical technology. For example  apparently there is science on the way that will allow us to identify Down Syndrome even earlier in a pregnancy. However if we were to terminate all Downs pregnancies there would be no Downs community anymore. How would that change the world? The talk moved me to almost tears a number of times.  I know the childless folk among us (especially those childless by choice) find it really condescending when you say that you cannot understand the love you has for a child until you have one but there is really no other way to explain the feeling so that way will have to do.

I love TED Talks. If you’ve not heard of them or seen one before get over there and check them out. Absolutely fascinating stuff.

5 thoughts on “The unconditional love of a parent

  1. It wasn’t until I gave birth to my daughter that I fully understood the meaning behind “‘Till death do us part”. I’ve since been divorced, but that mother/daughter relationship truly lasts forever.

    I do think that childless individuals can and do understand what unconditional love is either by experiencing it themselves or giving it to another, but I do feel that there’s a special bond between parents and children. Particularly in a parent/child relationship where the child was wanted and expected, which is fortunate because this also includes the relationships formed by fostering and adoption. 🙂

    • Yes I agree that we can experience unconditional love without having kids. I’d like to think that that is the sort of love I have for my whole family, especially my parents and siblings. We argue, yes, but we don’t fall out. There’s like this understanding that no matter what there is love. But that is still different to the unconditional love I feel for my child. Maybe it’s something to do with being entirely responsible for another human being. It is the only time pretty much that you are someone else’s entire world and how they get to experience life is pretty much up to you. Maybe that’s it. Thanks for dropping by my blog! 🙂

      • You’re welcome! You’re right, it probably does have something to do with being completely responsible for the little tykes. I guess that’s why pet owners sometimes refer to their pets as “fur babies”.

  2. Written very very well. I believe though that there can be unconditional love for more than one person, but in different ways.
    For instance the unconditional love I have for my daughter, is different than that I have for my fiance, which again is different than that which I have for my parents and sister.
    Cut from the same cloth, but different nonetheless.
    I really enjoy reading your blog, and I’d love some feedback on some of mine if you ever find yourself with the time. I feel like we’d get along great! 🙂
    http://howtoruinatoddlersday.wordpress.com/

    • Thank you so much! You are right of course, we do love others unconditionally. It’s just different. I love the name of your blog and will definitely be checking it out! I’ll leave a comment so you know I visited 🙂

Leave me a comment! The empty box is feeling so lonely.

